Department of Thermal and Nuclear Energy

Beginning of Department’s activity – 4 March 1922, when Department of Thermodynamics and Internal Combustion Engines was established at the University of Lithuania in Kaunas; it was managed by professor Vasaris Gorodeckis.

In 1940 it was titled Department of Thermal Engines, in 1962 – Department of Thermal Energy and in 1995 – Department of Thermal and Nuclear Energy.

Lithuanian science award received in 2002.

Each year Department of Thermal and Nuclear Energy organizes traditional scientific conference “Thermal Energy and Technologies”. Department’s employees implement many local and international scientific projects.

 Personnel of Department of Thermal and Nuclear Energy are highly qualified – 6 professors, 9 associated professors and 2 lecturers doctors work here. Young scientists, who defend their thesis, join the team of Department’s employees.


The Department offers a range of Study Programmes:

First Tier (Bachelor‘s) Programmes:

  • Thermal Energy and Technology

Specializations: Thermal Power Engineering; Refrigeration Engineering; Petroleum, Gas and Biofuel Engineering

  • Nuclear Energy

Specializations: Nuclear Power Plants; Nuclear Engineering

Second Tier (Master‘s) Programmes:

  • Thermal Engineering

Modules: Renewal Power Technologies; Fuel Engineering; Thermal Power Engineering; Thermal Technologies

  • Nuclear Energy

Department of Thermal and Nuclear Energy performs theoretical and applied research on the following subjects:

• Interaction between heat and mass transfer processes in two-phase gas-liquid systems

• Transfer of heat and impulse in two-phase foam flows and gravitational liquid film

• Reduction of fuel combustion and emissions during combustion, ways for reduction of formation of nitrous oxide

• Works for development and research of refrigeration compressors

• Processes and equipment for heat transformation

• Research of preservation of energy resources

• Calculation of emergency events, using software packages; their analysis for increase of safety of nuclear reactors’ work

• Peer review of nuclear safety projects, preparation of normative documents

• Research of emissions of volatile organic compounds from oil products in containers

Applied works

• Preparation of special municipal plans of heat economy

• Analysis and optimisation of thermo engineering systems of heat supply companies, industrial companies, provision of recommendations for modernisation

• Research of fuel combustion

Research of fuel:

• Determination of humidity, profitability and elemental composition (C, H, N, S) of solid fuel using analyser “Vario EL III”

• Determination of the amount of water, resins and sulphur in liquid fuel

• Determination of flashpoint, kinematic viscosity and saturated vapour pressure

• Determination of cold filter plugging point

• Distillation characteristics of oil products

• Determination of fuel colours using Sailboat device

  1. Ministry of Energy of the Republic of Lithuania
  2. Lithuanian Energy Institute
  3. National Commission for Energy Control and Prices (NCC)
  4. State Nuclear Power Safety Inspectorate (VATESI)
  5. AB “Lietuvos energija
  6.  AB “Kauno energija”
  7. UAB “Vilniaus energija”
  8. UAB “Kauno energetikos remontas”
  9. UAB “Enerstena
  10. UAB “Axis Technologies”
  11. UAB “Sweco Energy Consulting”
  12. UAB „Kalvis“
  13. AB “Jonavos šilumos tinklai”
  14. UAB “Utenos šilumos tinklai”
  15. The state enterprise Ignalina Nuclear Power Plant
  16. Visaginas Nuclear Power Plant (UAB VAE SPB)
  17. VĮ “Visagino energija”
  18. UAB “Genys
  19.  UAB “Carlsen Baltic”
  20.  LITBIOM
  21.  Lietuvos šiluminės technikos inžinierių asociacija
  22. Lietuvos branduolinės energetikos asociacija
  23. Lietuvos šilumos tiekėjų asociacija
  24. Nacionalinė šaltininkų asociacija
  • There are no events items on this category
  • There are no events items on this category
  • There are no events items on this category
  • There are no events items on this category
  • There are no announcements items on this category
  • There are no announcements items on this category
  • There are no announcements items on this category
  • There are no announcements items on this category



Prof. dr. Vytautas Dagilis Studentų g. 56–402
phone +370 614 42062
Prof. habil. dr. Jonas Gylys Studentų g. 56–401
phone 8 (37) 300 444
Prof. habil. dr. Valentinas Klevas Studentų g. 56–441
Prof. habil. dr. Gintautas Miliauskas Studentų g. 56–440
phone 8 (37) 300 437
Prof. habil. dr. Stasys Šinkūnas Studentų g. 56–428
phone +370 614 41515
Prof. habil. dr. Eugenijus Ušpuras Studentų g. 56–402

Asociated Professors

Assoc. prof. dr. Arvydas Adomavičius Studentų g. 56–441
phone +370 610 12817
Assoc. prof. dr. Algimantas Balčius Studentų g. 56–402
phone +370 614 41550
Assoc. prof. dr. Kęstutis Buinevičius Studentų g. 56–427
Assoc. prof. dr. Juozas Gudzinskas Studentų g. 56–404
Assoc. prof. dr. Rolandas Jonynas Studentų g. 56–427
Assoc. prof. dr. Valdas Lukoševičius Studentų g. 56–441
Assoc. prof. dr. Robertas Poškas Studentų g. 56–428
Assoc. prof. dr. Antanas Rimantas Sudintas Studentų g. 56–427
Assoc. prof. dr. Liutauras Vaitkus Studentų g. 56–402
phone +370 610 27664


Lect. dr. Martynas Gylys Studentų g. 56–401
phone +370 614 41500
Lect. dr. Linas Paukštaitis Studentų g. 56–401

Doctoral Students

Marius Trepulis Studentų g. 56-401
Titas Sereika K.Donelaičio g. 20–LK103
Vilius Bobinas Studentų g. 56-003
Monika Maziukienė Studentų g. 56-401
Gediminas Kabišius Studentų g. 56–401
Nerijus Rinkevičius Studentų g. 56–401

Head of Department

Head of Department Assoc. prof. dr. Egidijus Puida
Studentų g. 46–439
phone 8 (37) 300 436
Administrator Irena Gacevičiūtė
Studentų g. 46–438
phone 8 (37) 300 445